www.9dozen.com

How to frame affirmations?

In FAQs on November 16, 2008 at 11:05 am
Keep your statements simple and straightforward.
Eg.
Use:
I am relaxed and calm throughout my office hours.
Avoid:
I am very relaxed at any point of the day and remain calm during my office hours in spite of the hectic schedule and heavy workload.

Use words that you understand and are comfortable with.

Always keep your affirmations positive. If you want to get rid of an unwanted personality trait in you, write down the opposite state of mind you must achieve in order to replace the unwanted one.

Eg.
Use:
I love life and enjoy living every moment of it.
Avoid:
I am less depressed about living.

Affirmations are new beliefs of the mind. So frame them as such. Sentences expressing desires are bad autosuggesions.

Eg:
Use:
I am focussed and determined. I complete every project I take up. (establishes a new belief)

Avoid:
I want to be more focussed and I should not lose interest in projects halfway through.

Affirmations must describe what you want to achieve. And they should state it as if you have already achieved what you wanted.

Eg.
Use:
I have a powerful memory. (describes you after you achieved your goal.)
Avoid:
My memory is improving.

Avoid using the word ‘not’ in any affirmation.

Eg:
Use:
I have a great physical stamina. I am in excellent health
Avoid:
I am not physically weak.

Limit affirmations to a sentence or two.

You can remove punctuation marks if you feel they are difficult to type and are hampering you. Similarly you can type the entire sentence in lower case or upper case.

Leave a Reply

